On this page:
Note: To complete the procedures in this document, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.
To create/add a new assignment:
Assignmentsand then click
Addat the top of the page.
You can allow unlimited or a certain number of re-submissions of an assignment up to the due date, without having to return the submission to the student each time.
Checkmark. If you choose points, enter the maximum possible points (must be a positive number or zero). Note that only Points can be added to the Gradebook.
Note: This step is optional, but you will receive an
alert message at the top of the page when you post the assignment if
you leave it blank. Click
Post a second time to proceed.
"I have neither given nor received aid on this assignment. Yes (You must respond to submit your assignment.)"
Note: Note that only Points can be added to the Gradebook, not scores with other grade scales.
Assignments added in the Assignments tool can only be edited or removed in the Assignments tool. Assignment Grades can be edited in the Gradebook tool only if they have been Associated with an existing Gradebook entry. All other Assignments must be graded within the Gradebook Tool. Be very careful when associating Assignments with an existing Gradebook entry. If point values do not match, or if two or more assignments are associated with a single column, grades can be lost. For mor information see Associating an Assignment with a Gradebook Column.
Display to siteor
Display to selected groups. If you choose the latter, you'll see the groups and sections that are available; use the checkboxes to select the group(s) and/or section(s) to which you want the assignment released.
Note: Notification settings in this area apply to all users with a role of instructor, assistant, or adjunct instructor/teaching assistant.
Preview if you wish to review your assignment before
you post it. To see how it will look to students, click the black
triangle next to
While previewing the assignment, you can click
Save draft if
you want to save your assignment before you post it. You can then go
back to it and revise it, if you want, before you post it; see Posting an assignment previously saved as a draft. Only instructors (or those with the
proper permissions) can view drafts.
Post when you are ready to make the assignment
accessible by students.
To revise a posted assignment before or after its open date or due date:
When students view the revised assignment, they will be notified that changes have been made.Back to top
Note: You can completely delete an assignment before any students have submitted work. However, if you delete an assignment after the first submission, all students will continue to see the assignment with a notice saying "(Assignment has been deleted)", even though the assignment will not be visible in the Assignment List that you see as an instructor.
To delete an assignment:
Assignments. You will see a list of assignments.
Remove?next to the assignment you want to delete.
Deleteto permanently delete it or
Cancelif you've changed your mind.