Managing access to podcasts

Note: To complete the procedures in this document, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.

With the Podcasts tool, you can restrict access to your podcasts to site participants only, or you can make them available to the public. You can also edit permissions, and define who is allowed to create, revise, and delete podcasts.

Managing access to your podcasts

  1. From your site's menubar, click Podcasts.

  2. Near the top, click Options, and use the radio buttons to choose one of the following:

    • To provide public access to your podcast through a podcatcher, choose Display to non-members (publicly viewable).
    • To restrict access to site participants only, and to disable access through a podcatcher, choose Display to site.

  3. When you're finished, click Save Changes.

Note: This will affect access to all of your podcasts.

Editing permissions

To edit permissions from within the Podcasts tool:

  1. From your site's menubar, click Podcasts.

  2. Near the top, click Permissions.

  3. On the Permissions screen, you can add permissions based on participant roles. Permissions that are set in Resources cannot be changed in the Podcasts tool. Available permissions are as follows:

    New Add new podcasts
    Read View or download podcasts
    Revise.any Edit podcast information for all podcasts
    Revise.own Edit podcast information for your podcasts
    Delete.any Remove any podcasts
    Delete.own Remove your own podcasts
    All.groups View all podcasts, even those restricted to certain groups
    Hidden View all podcasts regardless of show/hide settings on each

  4. When you're finished, click Save.

To edit permissions from the Resources tool:

  1. From your site's menubar, click Resources.

  2. Check the box next to the Podcasts folder, and then click Permissions.

  3. All permissions are editable in Resources.

  4. When you're finished, click Save.