Revising or deleting a forum or topic

Note: To complete the procedures in this document, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.

Note: To delete an individual forum message, see Can I delete a forum message?

Revising a forum or topic

To revise a forum, a topic, or the default template for newly created forums and topics:

  1. In your site's menubar, click Forums, and then click to choose one of the following:

    • Template Settings opens the Default Template Settings screen. Settings from this template will apply each time you create a new forum or topic. You can override these settings for an individual forum or topic after you've created it.
    • Forum Settings opens the Forum Settings screen. This setting overrides the default template settings for an individual forum.
    • Topic Settings opens the Topic Settings screen. This setting overrides the default template and forum settings for an individual topic.

  2. For a forum or topic, you can change the title, descriptions, and attachments. You can also choose to disable postings. For a forum or topic or the default template, you can choose to modify permissions. For instructions, see Controlling access to Forums.

  3. When you're finished, click one of the following:

    • Save Settings saves your changes and returns you to the Forums screen.
    • Safe Draft saves your forum as a draft and returns you to the Forums screen.
    • Save Settings & Add Topic saves your changes and opens the Topic Settings screen for adding a new topic to your forum. For more information, see Creating a new forum and topic in Forums.
    • Delete removes your Forum and/or Topic with all associated messages, and takes you to a confirmation page.
    • Cancel cancels your changes and returns you to the Forums screen.

Deleting a forum or topic

To delete a forum or topic you've created:

  1. On the Forums screen, find the forum or topic you wish to delete, and next to its title click one of the following options:

    • Forum Settings opens the Forum Settings screen.
    • Topic Settings opens the Topic Settings screen.

  2. At the bottom of the screen, click Delete.

  3. You'll see a warning message that asks you to confirm the deletion. To delete the item, click Delete. To cancel, click No.