Adding, editing, or deleting chat rooms

Note: To complete the procedures in this document, you must be assigned a role having the necessary permissions. To determine your role, follow the directions in Participant roles. For a basic understanding of roles and permissions, see Permissions and roles: Overview.

If you have sufficient permissions, you can use the Chat Room tool to add, edit, or delete chat rooms within a site. Also, you can choose which room loads by default when participants click Chat Room.

Adding a room

To add a room:

  1. In the menubar, click Chat Room.

  2. Click Options.

  3. Click Add Room.

  4. Enter the chat room title and description in the text boxes.

  5. Use the radio buttons to select how many previous messages to display.

  6. Click Update Options. Your new room will now appear under "Manage Rooms" in the list of available chat rooms. To make your new room appear by default when participants click Chat Room, click Set as Default.

Editing a room

To edit a room's title, description, or number of messages displayed:

  1. In the menubar, click Chat Room.

  2. Click Options.

  3. Under the name of the room you wish to edit, click Edit.

  4. Change the chat room title or description, or use the radio buttons to select how many previous messages to display.

  5. When you are finished, click Update Options.

Note: To change the room that loads by default when participants click Chat Room, in Options, under "Manage Rooms", find the room and click Set as Default.

Deleting a room

To delete a room:

  1. In the menubar, click Chat Room.

  2. Click Options.

  3. Under the name of the room you wish to delete, click Delete.

  4. Under "Deleting chat room", to confirm the deletion, click Delete. To keep the room, click Cancel.