Managing groups

On this page:


Overview

Groups are subsets of participants for a given worksite. Groups are not preloaded with official course data, and can therefore be created by the instructor. Groups are useful to organize study groups, project teams, and other non-official subsets of worksite participants.

Note: When combining sections into a parent site, groups from the original sections will not be brought forward. However, each section behaves like a group on the parent site, i.e., group-aware tools recognize each section as a group.

You can use groups with the following tools:

Back to top

Accessing groups

You can access groups with the Site Info and Worksite Setup tools.

To access groups with the Site Info tool, follow these steps:

  1. In your site's menubar, click Site Info.

  2. Click Manage Groups.

To access groups with the Worksite Setup tool, follow these steps:

  1. Click My Workspace.

  2. From the menubar, click Worksite Setup.

  3. Click the checkbox next to the course for which you wish to manage groups, and from the top, click Edit.

  4. Click Manage Groups.

Creating a group

To create a new group, follow these steps:

  1. Access the groups area of your site (see above).

  2. Click Create New Group.

  3. In the "Title" field, type a title for your group (e.g., Project team 1). You may also add a text description.

  4. From the window on the left, select a site participant to add to the group, and then click the right arrow button ( > ). Repeat this step until you've added all the members you wish to the group. To select more than one member at a time, hold down the Ctrl key (in Windows) or the Cmd key (in Mac OS X), and select the members you wish to add. Clicking the double arrow buttons ( <<  and  >> ) to add or remove all members.

    If you select a role in the Site Member List to add to the Group Member List, all participants with that role will be included in the group.

  5. When you're finished, click Add.

Note: It is not possible to create a new group based on existing group (i.e., duplicate an existing group).

Note: You can quickly create a group for all participants of a role by following these steps:

  1. Access the groups area of your site (see above).

  2. Click Auto Groups.

  3. Click the checkbox next to each role or section for which you wish to create a group. Sakai will create a separate group for each role or section.

  4. When you're finished, click Update.
Back to top

Revising a group

To revise a group, follow these steps:

  1. Access the groups area of your site (see above).

  2. Next to the group title, click Edit.

  3. You may revise the "Title" and "Description" fields. You may also add group members by clicking the right arrow ( > ) or remove them using the left arrow ( < ).

  4. When you're finished, click Update.
Back to top

Deleting a group

To delete a group, follow these steps:

  1. Access the groups area of your site (see above).

  2. Next to the group you wish to remove, check the box under Remove?.

  3. Click Remove Checked.

  4. To confirm removal, click Delete Groups.